How to Heart an Elbow Patch:)

It is the first week in March and that means the start of Autumn, at this time I reluctantly  start to put away my pretty colorful summer dresses and change my wardrobe over to woolen tops, leggings, scarves and light warm jackets as the temperature progressively start to drop. Then again, living in Melbourne, any Melbournian worth their salt would know that we live in a city that has a reputation of being weather-volatile, warm one  minute and bone chilling cold when the weather changes. Ah! Melbourne, you grand old damsel, you have a certain charm:). But I heart you:)

Anyone living in  Melbourne here will also know the colour black is the signature wardrobe colour especially during winter followed by greys, I can’t comment about other cities but after being here for nine years, I know how much black Melbournians wear in the colder months, including myself (which is always tricky whenever I do my laundry because I would have so many black  items I can’t differenciate one item of clothing from the other:)

Black  can be rather flattering and also the  best camouflage attempt  to hide  winter flab gained from eating hearty comfort food and drinking more red wine:) BUT  when the cold weather  is dragging a little longer that one likes, and wearing a lot of black, it can make one feel a little more bleak than necessary (So why add more gloom?)

Which brings me to share  this wonderful easy  DIY idea to bring a little colour to black or darker tops that gives that touch of quirk.:) from Honestly WTF….little heart elbow patches using wool roving,felting needle and a heart-shaped cookie cutter. I tried on one of my older black woolen tops and I too now have heart elbow patches 🙂 (yee-hah!)

I would have taken a photo of my woolen top  but if you remember, I lost my camera (my last travel companion for the last 4 years) and using my phone camera is just not flattering but hopefully the picture from this tutorial will inspire you to put some more colour in your wardrobe.

Heart Elbow Patch: Image from Honestly WTF

This desk jockey is still experiencing rough bumps on the work front…which is why I have had less time to work on this blog these last few weeks hopefully it all irons out soon. I am looking forward to the long weekend..Woot woot..sometime away out the city and in the country would be quite refreshing. xo Rachel @NotaHati

Heart elbow patch: Image from Honestly WTF

Leave a Reply

